top of page

DIY Rose gold/bright copper table with faux marble top!

Oh yes, it's a trend! Rose gold and bright copper are pretty much everywhere nowadays, from the living room deco to the bathroom accessories! My first UK project in DIY was to make a faux marble top coffee table with rose gold/bright copper metallic legs.

Here's the how to and products I have used:

I first started by sanding the table's legs to get them coarser so that the primer and paint would apply evenly and stay flawless for longer.

Then I sprayed two layers of the white primer, waiting about an hour in between. When the primer was totally dry, in 5-6 hours, I applied the metallic spray paint again in two layers with 1 hour in between. Then waited 2 days until the legs where fully dry.

Next step, I made the marble top effect. It is an easy process if you have some experience (which I did not have!) but you get the hang of it after a while!

I cut the contact paper in pieces to cover the main area and two sides (as my table is round) and applied it carefully using the filling knives. Make sure you have cut enough contact paper to be able to cover the area and the sides as well as some margin to securely stick on the reverse side.

Once applied, I run over it a few more times with the filling knives and a needle to get rid of the trapped air forming bubbles. The last part was to remove those ugly spots where the contact paper formed wrinkles that were mainly at the table's edges. I used a lighter to slowly warm up the spots and then even out the area with my fingers. Careful not to touch the warmed area when it's too hot!

Here is what my end result looks like:

Hope you liked this DIY and that it brings inspiration foryour home projects!

Healthy, happy and prosperous living everyone!

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page